Invent 2018

What is Invent?

Invent is Catalyst Inc's annual competition supported by headline sponsor Bank of Ireland UK. It showcases and rewards local innovations and proof of concept ideas that have the greatest commercial potential. It’s an opportunity to gain high-profile exposure; to validate your idea and to unlock a quality network of influencers. There’s also a prize fund of £33,000 shared by the winners. 

Invent 2018 Sponsors


Invent 2018 Overall Winner

Invent 2018 Success for Gray's Clip 


Gavin Kennedy (Bank of Ireland UK), Julie and David Gray (Gray's Clip)

Category Winners

Crafted Equestrian 

Injury prevention solution for horses 

Jenny Gregg 

Agri Science Category Winner

Student Invent winner


A revolutionary way to find and book health & wellbeing providers

Team: Jason Harvey and Andrew McCracken

Creative Media & Consumer Internet Category Winner

Elevator Pitch Winner

Machine Eye

Intelligent safety device

Team: Brendan Digney, Alan Ferguson, Jonathan Atkinson, Ben Kelly, Tiernan Conlon

Electronics Category Winner

Gray’s Clip

Fully insulated power cable clip 

Julie Gray 

Engineering Category Winner


Goods importation processing system 

Barry Rollins

Enterprise Software Category Winner


Ultrasound targeted cancer drug delivery 

John Callan 

Life and Health Category Winner 

Innovation Founder Award 2018

Connect is future-focused, but that’s not to say we can’t learn a thing or two from the past. Our annual Innovation Founders Award is given to a local innovator who has successfully pushed the possibility of their business idea beyond boundaries. 

They come from a wide variety of sectors but all share a common characteristic: having the tenacity and vision to develop home-grown innovation into remarkable success stories. They are all testament to the fact that in Northern Ireland we are as capable as anywhere in the world at creating outstanding breakthrough businesses. 

Steering Team

Clare Passmore


David Brownlee

HSC Innovations

Neil Buchanan


Kathleen Garrett


Niamh Griffin

Bank Of Ireland UK

John Macrae

Ulster University

Steven Orr

Deloitte Digital

Neasa Quigley

Carson Mc Dowell

Kathryn Walls

Mills Selig

Jason Wiggins